The Group:

Valerie Lovrek, Sophia Mallmann, Sissi Reutter, Philipp Mallmann, Franz Mayer-Heinisch, Concho Leeb, Margarita Leeb, Albi Auersperg, Clemens J. Hartig, Resi Isola, Audrey Lee James, Maxi Szapary, Louis Szapary, Veronika Moser

Stats:

Steps: 42,642
Kilometers today: 32.92
Kilometers in total: 418.69
Elevation: 1,350 meters 
Time: 7 hours and 24 minutes

Diary:

On day 13 we were 14 people, the biggest group yet! Even though we were a big group, we still had a very efficient morning and arrived at the Görlitzerhut (1612m) after 2 hours and 15 minutes, the Landlady couldn’t believe how fast we were up there. After a short break at the hut, we continued our hike, the way leading through a pasture populated by several cows, who responded aggressively to Louis’s attempts at close-up video shots. No injuries. Today was very scenic, which was a good compensation for the long way back down the mountain, which was painful for some knees and ankles. For the first time, the group split up a little because there was confusion over which way was shortest, but we found each other again, so no problems there. The first people to arrive at todays final destination were Louis and Sophia at 14:58 after winning a sprint race against Philipp and Maxi who had caught up a lot by running the last 4 kilometers.

From the fellow walkers to our Concho:

Congratulations!! Today Concho achieved  greatness. Whilst we all collapsed at our goal, Concho kept going. He secretly walked an extra 32,5 km over the past 4 days hereby succeeding in catching up his lost day (day 4, where he was M.I.A. due to illness).
"Project Escalation" COMPLETED!!

Today we say good bye to Albi who has sadly left us one day before arriving.

Pictures:

Laurel James
18/8/2012 06:51:51 am

Well, ... since Audrey has simply BEGGED me to Blog again, .........I guess, ............maybe?..............hmmmmmm?...........ok!............I will. ..............Boy! I'm in, I'm out, I'm in....my head is spinning! Ach, die Kinder von heute! Anyway, I am happy to be back. I am glad to hear you all missed me! ...........I was very sad. @:-( ..............So today it was aggressive cows AND tumbling down mountains AND sustaining physical injuries in the process AND getting lost looking for the short cut! I tell you these short cuts are gonna kill us!........... Are we really having fun? Really?!?.......Wow, it looks like Concho is having a very "difficult" time over there! Was there enough time for his "pedi / mani'? with or without polish? Poor man. Hope he makes it to his next beauty termin in Stift Rein tomorrow! I hope he is a good tipper!..........By the way, seriously, Audrey looks like she is in heaven with you all and that makes me soooo happy. Thank you for having her with you on such a wonder filled journey. I know she is safe. I love that pic and the caption was great to see! No lions, tigers, or bears any where....just aggressive cows.....oh WHAT a relief! You are all wonderful and heroic, but you already know that! Hugs and Congratulations! You have made it... Tomorrow will be truly great, but remember it is the journey that is the most important part of any accomplishment. This journey was a truly great one and I am so proud to have been a part of it blogging along with you! Thank you for making my life richer for it! Stift Rein is a lucky place, to be hosting such a fantastic group of world citizens tomorrow. Enjoy the success! You deserve every good thing that comes your way after this epic adventure. Hugs for all and MWAH, Laurel

Reply



Leave a Reply.